Standards and Ethics Committee - Thursday 19 January 2023 2.00 p.m.

Venue: Town Hall, The Crofts, Moorgate Street, Rotherham. S60 2TH

Contact: Debbie Pons, Governance Advisor  Email:

No. Item


Apologies for Absence


To receive the apologies of any Member who is unable to attend today’s meeting.


Declarations of Interest


To receive declarations of interest from Members in respect of items listed on the agenda.


Exclusion of Press and Public


To consider whether the press and public should be excluded from the meeting during consideration of any part of the agenda.


Agenda Items 7 and 8 are all exempt from the press and public.


Minutes of the previous meeting held on 15th September, 2022 pdf icon PDF 135 KB


To consider and approve the minutes of the previous meeting held on 15th September, 2022 as a true and correct record of the proceedings.


Pledge of Civility and Respect - Parish and Town Councils pdf icon PDF 269 KB


To consider the Civility and Respect Pledge, its aims and objectives and the requirements for a Local Council to sign up to the Pledge.



Code of Conduct - Data Protection and Confidential Information pdf icon PDF 288 KB


To consider guidance to Members in respect of their obligations relating to the Code of Conduct and in particular the use of Personal Data.

Additional documents:


Review of Complaints


To give consideration to a report updating the Committee on the Complaints received against Members of the Council, and Town and Parish Councillors alleging a breach of the Code of Conduct.


Review of Concerns Raised Pursuant to the Whistleblowing Policy


To give consideration to a report regarding concerns raised pursuant to the Whistleblowing Policy and the actions taken to address these matters.


Urgent Business


To determine any item which the Chair is of the opinion should be considered as a matter of urgency.


Date and Time of Next Meeting


The next meeting of the Standards and Ethics Committee will take place on Thursday, 9th March, 2023, commencing at 2.00 p.m.



Chief Executive.